Town Hall Meeting
Wednesday, June 15, 2011

A Town Hall Meeting was held on Wednesday, June 15, 2011 at the Southshore Education Centre.

Topic for Discussion: Landfills

Council and Staff Present: Pat Haufe, Mayor; Tom Piper, Councillor; Liz Smith, Councillor; Tom Butler, Councillor; Lisa McLenon, AECOM; Charles Barton, CAO-Clerk; Dave Yemm, Operations Superintendent; John-Paul Negrinotti, Economic Development Co-Ordinator; and Kris Croskery-Hodgins, Treasurer-Deputy Clerk.

Regrets: Councillor Dougal Culham

Guests Present: Roy L. Whyte; Scott Dunn; Shelly Bateman; Gladys Bateman; Doug Walli; Catherine Walli; Donna Miner; Ron Miner; Garnet Hughes; Bob Warner and André Boileau.

The meeting began at 7:00 p.m.
Mayor Haufe welcomed guests.

Scott Dunn, Principal of South Shore Education Centre spoke regarding before and after-school child care programming to be offered at the school location in the future.

Mayor Haufe introduced Council and Staff.

The format and guidelines for the meeting were provided.

Open discussion began regarding the following topics:

Recycling – Accessibility, Public Commitment, Materials and Collection.
Solid Waste – Permitted Items, Items Not Accepted in Solid Waste and Collection.
User Fees and Environmental Services Budget including recycling and waste management.
Additional items discussed – Commercial Rate, Certificate of Approval (COA) for both Landfill Sites, Scavenging and Personnel.

The floor was open to comments during the entire presentation and comments were welcomed following the presentation.

The announcement of an Ad Hoc Landfill Committee was made. Contact information was circulated.

Minutes – Town Hall Meeting June 15, 2011 – Page 2

Meeting ended at 8:00 p.m.


Minutes prepared as per Section 228 (1) (a) of the Municipal Act, S.O. 2001, c. 25. Clerk to record, without note or comment, all resolutions, decisions and other proceedings of the council.

Minutes to be approved by Council at the next regular Council Meeting.