Tuesday, May 24, 2016

A regular meeting of the Township of Nipissing Council was held on Tuesday, May 24, 2016.

Present: Mayor Pat Haufe and Councillors Linda Andersen, Tom Butler, Tom Piper and Liz Smith.

Staff and visitors present: Sharon Burns, Rose Haufe, Will Bateman, Dave Yemm, John-Paul Negrinotti, Kris Croskery-Hodgins and Charles Barton.

The meeting was called to order at 6:30 p.m.

Disclosure of pecuniary interest: None.

Staff Reports: Dave Yemm, Operations Superintendent – written and verbal report.
John-Paul Negrinotti, EDO-CEMC-Planning Assistant – verbal report.
Will Bateman, Deputy Fire Chief – written report.
Charles Barton, CAO-Clerk – verbal report.
Kris Croskery-Hodgins, Treasurer-Deputy Clerk – verbal report.

Committee Reports:
Tom Piper – Eastholme Board of Management
Liz Smith – Source Water Protection, Nipissing Township Museum Board, FONOM meeting
Linda Andersen – District of Parry Sound Municipal Association Meeting
Tom Butler – Nipissing Area Food Charter, FONOM meeting

R2016-113 L. Andersen, T. Piper: That the minutes of the meeting held May 10, 2016 be adopted as published. Carried.

A review of the final 2016 Budget draft was presented.

R2016-114 T. Butler, L. Andersen: That we pass By-Law Number 2016-28, being a By-Law to adopt the estimates for all sums required for the year, to provide for the adoption of tax rates and to further provide for penalty and interest in default of payment thereof for 2016.
Read a first, second and third time and passed this 24th day of May, 2016. Carried.

R2016-115 T. Piper, L. Smith: That we donate $100 to the Almaguin Highlands Secondary School Graduation Awards Program. Carried.

R2016-116 T. Butler, L. Andersen: That the Township of Nipissing endorses in principle the Nipissing and Area Food Charter and supports the efforts related to creating public policies and supportive environments that promote a healthy, sustainable food system within the region. Carried.

R2016-117 T. Butler, L. Andersen: That we accept the correspondence as presented. Carried.

R2016-118 L. Smith, T. Piper: That the statement of accounts dated May 18 and 24, 2016; totaling $82,641.99, be approved. Carried.

May 24, 2016 – Minutes – Page 2

R2016-119 L. Andersen, T. Butler: That we pass By-Law No. 2016-29, being a by-law to confirm the proceedings of Council at its meeting held on May 24, 2016. Read the first, second and third time and passed this 24th day of May, 2016. Carried.

R2016-120 L. Smith, T. Piper: That the meeting be adjourned. Time: 8:36 p.m. Next regular meeting June 7, 2016. Carried.



Minutes prepared as per Section 228 (1)(a) of the Municipal Act, S.O. 2001, c. 25. Clerk to record, without note or comment, all resolutions, decisions and other proceedings of the council.
Minutes to be approved by Council at the next regular Council Meeting.