Tuesday, June 15, 2010

A regular meeting of the Township of Nipissing Council was held on Tuesday, June 15 2010.

Present: Mayor Wendy Prieur and Councillors Kalvin Young, Dougal Culham, Leslee Lawrence Straus and Pat Haufe.
Staff and visitors present: John-Paul Negrinotti, Dave Yemm, Kevin Martin, Kylie Winterstein, Liz Smith and Charles Barton.

The meeting was called to order at 6:30 p.m.

Disclosure of pecuniary interest: Councillor Young.

Staff Reports:
Dave Yemm, Operations Superintendent: Verbal and Written report.
Kevin Martin, Firechief: Verbal and Written report.
Charles Barton, CAO-Clerk: Verbal report.

Committee Reports: None

R2010-182 K. Young, L. Lawrence Straus: That we award Tender N-04-10 for crushed granite to Evan Hughes Excavating in the amount of $134,668.88.

R2010-183 D. Culham, P. Haufe: That the minutes of the meeting held June 1, 2010 be adopted as published. Carried.

Discuss Strategic Plan update, Amend Pay Equity Plan and review Township’s current pay structure.

R2010-184 K. Young, L. Lawrence Straus: That we accept a quotation received from R.A. Young to review the Township’s current pay structure.

Minutes – June 15, 2010 – Page 2

R2010-185 L. Lawrence Straus, K. Young: Be it resolved
1. that this Council does approve “in principal” the application of Sage Homes Ltd. and Margaret Charlton to purchase the Municipal Trespass Road through their respective properties in Lot 10, Concession 18, Township of Nipissing.

2. that this Resolution be subject to the following conditions,

a) Sage Homes Ltd. will be responsible for the payment of all the municipal, administrative and legal costs in connection with the processing of both applications;

b) Prior to any future conveyance, all easements required by Hydro One and Bell Telephone, shall be registered.

Presentation from Dave Matthews regarding severance proposals.

Councillor Young left the meeting as per his ‘Disclosure of Pecuniary Interest’

R2010-186 D. Culham, P. Haufe: That we approve Consent Application No. B/28/Nipissing/2010: Applicant: Young/Punnet AThe lot must comply with the consent Policies of Section 5.2.2 and 5.2.3″ in the Township of Nipissing=s Official Plan. Any travelled road situated on the subject property should be transferred to the municipality for road purposes.

Councillor Young resumed his seat.

R2010-187 L. Lawrence Straus, K. Young: Whereas severance application No. B/26/Nipissing/2010, applicants: Thomas and Theresa Lewis , has been submitted to the North Almaguin Planning Board;
And, whereas the application does not confirm to the consent policies outlined in Section 5.2.2 and 5.2.3 of the Township of Nipissing=s Official Plan;
Now therefore the Council of the Township of Nipissing requests that the subject application be refused.

R2010-188 L. Lawrence Straus, K. Young : Whereas the Municipality of Powassan is submitting an application for a Family Health Team,

Whereas the Township of Nipissing acknowledges that the proposed catchment area is an underserviced area with unattached patients requiring primary health care and integrated services,

Now therefore the Township of Nipissing hereby supports, in principal, the Municipality of Powassan led application to the Ministry of Health and Long Term Care for the Powassan and Area Family Health Team.

Minutes – June 15, 2010 – Page 3

R2010-189 P. Haufe, D. Culham: That we accept the correspondence as presented.

R2010-190 K. Young, L. Lawrence Straus: That the statement of accounts dated June 15, 2010 be approved. $406, 768.10

R2010-191 L. Lawrence Straus, D. Culham: That we accept the renewal proposal for the Township’s Insurance received from Frank Cowen Co. for 2010 – 2011.

R2010-192 L. Lawrence Straus, K. Young: That we pass By-Law No. 2010-64, being a by-law to confirm the proceedings of Council at its meeting held on June 15, 2010.
Read a first, second and third time and passed this 15th day of June, 2010.

R2010-193 D. Culham, P. Haufe : That the meeting be adjourned. Time: 8:35p.m. Next regular meeting July 13th, 2010. Carried.



Minutes prepared as per Section 228 (1) (a) of the Municipal Act, S.O. 2001, c. 25. Clerk to record, without note or comment, all resolutions, decisions and other proceedings of the council.

Minutes to be approved by Council at the next regular Council Meeting.