MINUTES

TOWNSHIP OF NIPISSING Tuesday, November 15, 2022

A regular meeting of the Township of Nipissing Council was held on Tuesday, November 15, 2022 starting at 6:30 p.m.

The meeting was held in person at the Township of Nipissing Community Centre, and livestreamed to the Township of Nipissing YouTube Channel.

Present: Mayor Tom Piper and Councillors Tom Butler, Shelly Foote, Stephen Kirkey and Dave Yemm.

Staff: Operations Superintendent Dan MacInnis; Land Planning and Technology Administrator-Deputy Treasurer John-Paul Negrinotti; Administrative Assistant-Deputy Clerk Kristin Linklater; Fire Chief-MLEO-CEMC Will Bateman and Municipal Administrator-Clerk-Treasurer Kris Croskery-Hodgins. **Guests:** Tom Foote

Council Members took the Declaration of Office and were sworn in for the 2022-2026 Term.

Disclosure of pecuniary interest: None.

Staff Reports: None.

Committee Reports:

Mayor Tom Piper: Eastholme Home for the Aged Board of Management, SNF Water Group Councillor Steve Kirkey: Powassan District Union Public Library Board

Tom Foote left the meeting.

R2022-190 S. Kirkey, T. Butler:

That we pass By-Law Number 2022-48, being a By-Law to confirm the appointment of members to the Township of Nipissing Committee of Adjustment. Read a first, second and third time and passed this 15th day of November, 2022. **Carried**.

R2022-191 S. Kirkey, S. Foote:

That we pass By-Law Number 2022-49, being a By-Law to appoint a Deputy Mayor. Read a first, second and third time and passed this 15th day of November, 2022. **Carried**.

R2022-192 D. Yemm, S. Foote:

That we pass By-Law Number 2022-50, being a By-Law to appoint Fence Viewers for the Township of Nipissing.

Read a first, second and third time and passed this 15th day of November, 2022. **Carried**.

R2022-193 S. Kirkey, T. Butler:

That the minutes of the Council Meeting held October 4, 2022 and the Special Meeting held October 25, 2022, be adopted as published. **Carried**.

R2022-194 D. Yemm, S. Kirkey:

That we appoint the following members to committees, positions and boards for the period of November 15, 2022 to November 14, 2026:

Cemetery Board

Members at LargeBrett MacDonald and Terri ReidtCouncil MembersTom Butler and Dave YemmStaff AppointmentsDan MacInnis and Kris Croskery-Hodgins

Library Board

Councillor Stephen Kirkey; Member at Large Doug Walli

Livestock Valuers

Councillor Dave Yemm; Staff Representative Kristin Linklater

Museum Board

Members at LargeLiz Moore, Mary Heasman, Brenda Lennon, Gladys Bateman,
Chris JohnstonCouncil MembersStephen Kirkey, Dave YemmStaff AppointmentKris Croskery-Hodgins

Recreation Committee

Members at LargeJames Scott, Ron Phillips, Kathy Shaw, Terri Reidt, Andrew
Barry, Steph Deschesne, Chris JohnstonCouncil MembersTom Piper, Shelly FooteStaff AppointmentsKristin Linklater, Will Bateman

Tile Drainage Inspector

Dan MacInnis

Carried.

R2022-195 D. Yemm, T. Butler:

THAT Doug Walli be appointed as the Township of Nipissing representative to the Golden Sunshine Municipal Non-Profit Housing Corporation Board for the Council term of 2022 to 2026. **Carried**.

R2022-196 T. Butler, S. Kirkey:

THAT Tom Piper be appointed as the Township of Nipissing representative to the Golden Sunshine Municipal Non-Profit Housing Corporation Board for the Council term of 2022 to 2026. **Carried**.

R2022-197 D. Yemm, S. Kirkey:

THAT Council nominated Mayor Tom Piper to represent Area 1 on the Eastholme Home for the Aged – Board of Management. **Carried**.

R2022-198 S. Foote, D. Yemm:

THAT Steve Kirkey be appointed as the Township of Nipissing representative to the North Bay-Mattawa Source Protection Authority for the Council term of 2022 to 2026. **Carried**.

R2022-199 D. Yemm, S. Kirkey:

THAT Tom Butler be appointed as the Township of Nipissing representative to the East Nipissing-North Parry Sound Veterinary Unit for the Council term of 2022-2026. **Carried**.

R2022-200 D. Yemm, T. Butler:

The 2023 Council Meeting Schedule will be as follows:

January 3, 2023	January 17, 2023	February 7, 2023	February 21, 2023
March 7, 2023	March 21, 2023	April 4, 2023	April 18, 2023
May 2, 2023	May 16, 2023	June 6, 2023	June 20, 2023
July 11, 2023	August 15, 2023	September 5, 2023	September 19, 2023
October 3, 2023	October 17, 2023	November 14, 2023	}
December 5, 2023	December 19, 2023	Carried.	

R2022-201 S. Kirkey, T. Butler:

That the 2022 Holiday hours for municipal operations be as follows: Township Office: December 26-30, 2022 Closed Landfill Sites: *remains closed Tuesdays, as per regular schedule. December 24, 2022 Closed at 2:00 p.m. December 25, 2022 Closed December 26, 2022 Closed December 31, 2022 Closed at 2:00 p.m. January 1, 2023 Closed Carried.

R2022-202 T. Butler, S. Kirkey:

That we accept the correspondence as presented. **Carried**.

R2022-203 D. Yemm, S. Kirkey:

That the statement of accounts dated:

October 13, 14, 18, 21 and 26; November 3, 10 and 15, 2022; Totaling \$688,008.42 be approved. **Carried**.

R2022-204 T. Butler, S. Foote:

That we pass By-Law No. 2022-51, being a by-law to confirm the proceedings of Council at its meeting held on November 15, 2022.

Read the first, second and third time and passed this 15th day of November, 2022. Carried.

R2022-205 D. Yemm, S. Kirkey:

That the meeting be adjourned. Time: 7:50 p.m. Next regular meeting to be held December 6, 2022. **Carried**.

Mayor:

Municipal Administrator:

Minutes prepared as per Section 228 (1)(a) of the Municipal Act, S.O. 2001, c. 25. Clerk to record, without note or comment, all resolutions, decisions and other proceedings of the council. Minutes to be approved by Council at the next regular Council Meeting.