MINUTES

TOWNSHIP OF NIPISSING Thursday, May 9, 2024

A special meeting of the Township of Nipissing Council was held on Thursday, May 9, 2024 starting at 6:30 p.m. The meeting was held in person at the Township of Nipissing Community Centre, and livestreamed to the Township of Nipissing YouTube Channel.

Present: Mayor Tom Piper and Councillors Stephen Kirkey, Shelly Foote and Dave Yemm. **Staff:** Office Assistant-Intern and Interim Deputy Clerk Kim Turnbull; Fire Chief-MLEO-CEMC Will Bateman; Operations Superintendent Dan MacInnis; Land Planning & Technology Administrator-Deputy Treasurer John-Paul Negrinotti and Municipal Administrator-Clerk-Treasurer Kris Croskery-Hodgins.

Disclosure of pecuniary interest: None.

Certified Council Candidates present:

Joshua Dills
Shawn Hughes
Chris Johnston
Justin Blake Mitchell
James M. Scott
Robby Serson
Donna Taylor

Certified Candidates absent:

Shawn Mills

Mayor Piper welcomed everyone and expressed appreciation to the candidates for their willingness to step forward to the seat of Councillor.

Mayor Piper explained the speaking and voting process.

Per the Appointment Procedure for Filling Vacancy on Council, the speaking order was determined by lot. Mayor Piper drew the names and Certified Candidates spoke in the following order:

- 1. Shawn Hughes
- 2. Shawn Mills was not present to speak.
- 3. Joshua Dills
- 4. Justin M. Mitchell
- 5. Donna Taylor withdrew from the process during her speaking time.
- 6. Chris Johnston
- 7. Robby Serson
- 8. James Scott

Council cast ballots, results as follows:

- 1 vote Shawn Hughes
- 1 vote Robby Serson
- 2 votes James Scott

Shawn Hughes and Robby Serson's names were placed in the container for the selection of one to be eliminated from the competition.

Robby Serson was drawn for elimination.

Council cast ballots, results as follows:

1 vote Shawn Hughes

3 votes James M. Scott

Declared winner: James M. Scott

R2024-098 D. Yemm, S. Foote:

That we pass By-Law Number 2024-20, being a By-Law to appoint a Councillor. Read a first, second and third time and passed this 9th day of May, 2024. **Carried.**

R2024-099 D. Yemm, S. Kirkey:

That we pass By-Law No. 2024-21, being a By-Law to confirm the proceedings of Council at its meeting held on May 9, 2024.

Read a first, second and third time and passed this 9th day of May. **Carried**.

R2024-100 D. Yemm, S. Foote:

That the meeting be adjourned. Time: 7:43 p.m. Next regular meeting to be held May 14 , 2024. **Carried.**

Mayor:

Municipal Administrator:

Minutes prepared as per Section 228 (1)(a) of the Municipal Act, S.O. 2001, c. 25. Clerk to record, without note or comment, all resolutions, decisions and other proceedings of the council. Minutes to be approved by Council at the next regular Council Meeting.