MINUTES

TOWNSHIP OF NIPISSING Tuesday, June 18, 2024

A regular meeting of the Township of Nipissing Council was held on Tuesday, June 18, 2024 starting at 6:30 p.m. The meeting was held in person at the Township of Nipissing Community Centre, and livestreamed to the Township of Nipissing YouTube Channel.

Present: Mayor Tom Piper and Councillors Stephen Kirkey, Shelly Foote and Dave Yemm.

Regrets: Councillor James Scott.

Staff: Fire Chief-MLEO-CEMC Will Bateman and Municipal Administrator-Clerk-Treasurer Kris

Croskery-Hodgins.

Disclosure of pecuniary interest: None.

Committee Reports:

Councillor Dave Yemm: Nipissing Township Museum Board.

Councillor Steve Kirkey: Powassan District Union Public Library Board.

Mayor Tom Piper: Golden Sunshine Municipal Non-Profit Housing Corporation (The Pines).

R2024-138 D. Yemm, S. Foote:

That the minutes of the regular Council Meeting held June 4, 2024, be adopted as published. **Carried.**

R2024-139 S. Kirkey, S. Foote:

WHEREAS the Government of Ontario continues to secure access to affordable energy to further economic growth, including the Natural Gas Expansion Program and the Keeping Energy Costs Down Act and the Enbridge Gas Inc's Rate Rebasing Application Phase 2 (EB-2004-0111) requires review:

AND WHEREAS the Township of Nipissing supports a measured approach to Ontario's energy transition; one that leverages existing gas infrastructure, invests in renewable natural gas and hydrogen, in addition to building the electricity supply;

AND WHEREAS the Township of Nipissing recognizes that growing communities and new developments have growing energy needs to support housing developments, new businesses, community centres, hospitals, schools and industrial areas and all Ontarians benefit from this growth.

THEREFORE, the Council of the Township of Nipissing supports hearings like this to represent municipal voices for the need for natural gas and natural gas infrastructure to support the province's diversified energy mix.

AND THAT this Resolution be forwarded to the Hon. Doug Ford, Premier of Ontario, Hon. Stephen Lecce, the Minister of Energy and Electrification, President of AMO, Colin Best, MPP Vic Fedeli, and the Ontario Energy Board. **Carried**.

R2024-140 S. Foote, D. Yemm:

That we accept the resignation of Ron Phillips from the Township of Nipissing Recreation Committee. **Carried.**

R2024-141 S. Foote, D. Yemm:

That we accept the correspondence as presented. **Carried**.

R2024-142 S. Kirkey, D. Yemm:

That the statement of accounts dated June 3, 4, 8, 11, and 13, 2024; totaling \$181,812.08 be approved. **Carried.**

R2024-143 D. Yemm, S. Kirkey;

That we pass By-Law 2024-32, being a By-Law to confirm the proceedings of Council at its meeting held on June 18, 2024. **Carried.**

R2024-144 S. Foote, D. Yemm:

That the meeting be adjourned. Time: 7:03 p.m. Next regular meeting to be held July 16, 2024. **Carried.**

Mayor:

Municipal Administrator:

Minutes prepared as per Section 228 (1)(a) of the Municipal Act, S.O. 2001, c. 25. Clerk to record, without note or comment, all resolutions, decisions and other proceedings of the council. Minutes to be approved by Council at the next regular Council Meeting.