MINUTES

TOWNSHIP OF NIPISSING Thursday, December 19, 2024

A special meeting of the Township of Nipissing Council was held on Thursday, December 19, 2024 starting at 6:30 p.m. The meeting was held in person at the Township of Nipissing Community Centre, and livestreamed to the Township of Nipissing YouTube Channel.

Present: Mayor Dave Yemm and Councillors Shelly Foote, Stephen Kirkey, and James Scott. **Staff:** Fire Chief-MLEO-CEMC Will Bateman, Operations Superintendent Dan MacInnis, Land Planning & Technology Administrator John-Paul Negrinotti, Deputy Treasurer, Interim Deputy Clerk Kim Turnbull and Municipal Administrator-Clerk-Treasurer Kris Croskery-Hodgins.

Disclosure of pecuniary interest: None.

The purpose of this special meeting is to fill a Council vacancy.

Mayor Yemm welcomed the candidates.

Names were drawn to determine speaking order.

- 1. Lisa Chalapenko
- 2. Kyle MacKenzie
- 3. Mélanie Brown
- 4. Shawn Hughes
- 5. Chris Johnston
- 6. Rob Serson

Council voted by ballot.

Results of round #1: 2 Rob Serson

1 Lisa Chalapenko1 Shawn Hughes

The vote was repeated removing candidates not receiving any votes, per the Appointment Procedure for Filling Vacancy on Council, #1.

Results of round #2: 2 Rob Serson

1 Lisa Chalapenko1 Shawn Hughes

Following Procedure #3, a question was provided to the 3 candidates with a 3 minute time limit to respond.

Results of round #3: 2 Lisa Chalapenko

1 Shawn Hughes 1 Rob Serson Procedure #5 states a duplicate result of previous which was not ach ieved. The vote was performed again.

Results of round #4: 2 Lisa Chalapenko

1 Shawn Hughes 1 Rob Serson

Following #5 of Procedure, the 2 candidates with the lowest votes were placed in a draw. The first name drawn is eliminated from the next vote.

Name drawn: Shawn Hughes

Results of round #5: 3 Lisa Chalapenko

1 Rob Serson

Lisa Chalapenko was determined the successful candidate.

The Declaration of Office was administered.

R2024-255 S. Foote, J. Scott:

THAT we pass By-Law Number 2024-59, being a By-Law to appoint a member of Council. Lisa Chalapenko is appointed to the Council of the Township of Nipissing. Read a first, second and third time, and passed this 19th day of December, 2024. **Carried.**

R2024-256 S. Foote, J. Scott;

That we pass By-Law 2024-60, being a By-Law to confirm the proceedings of Council at its meeting held on December 19, 2024.

Read the first, second and third time and passed this 19th day of December, 2024. **Carried.**

R2024-257 S. Kirkey, J. Scott:

That the meeting be adjourned. Time: 7:26 p.m. Next regular meeting to be held January 7, 2025. **Carried.**

Mayor:

Municipal Administrator:

Minutes prepared as per Section 228 (1)(a) of the Municipal Act, S.O. 2001, c. 25. Clerk to record, without note or comment, all resolutions, decisions and other proceedings of the council. Minutes to be approved by Council at the next regular Council Meeting.